Sunday Street Team: Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

Posted April 16, 2017 by Alexia in book review, giveaway, sunday street team / 2 Comments

Sunday Street Team: Girl Out of Water by Laura SilvermanGirl Out of Water by Laura Silverman
Published by Sourcebooks Fire on May 2nd, 2017
Genres: contemporary
Pages: 320
Format: eARC
Source: Publisher
Goodreads

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.

Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

Welcome to our first Sunday Street Team post of the year! I hope you enjoy my review and don’t forget to enter thw giveaway below.


purchase information

Amazon- US:  http://amzn.to/2nMpDV1
Amazon – UK: http://amzn.to/2ohyxh6
Barnes & Nobles: http://bit.ly/2ohJC1x
Book Depository: http://bit.ly/2oaYo9S


book review

I had totally forgotten about this book until this month and to just make it extra fun, I didn’t reread the synopsis before I opened up the book. I found myself nervous about the book because I’m not a huge Sarah Dessen fan and Jenny Han’s books only work for me a little bit, so the comparison made me a little iffy and the beginning of the book didn’t start off well for me at all. But, I kept reading because I wanted to enjoy this book. Heck, I would have settled for just liking it.

It was definitely rough going in the beginning because Anise was a pain in the ass. She was a selfish, self-centered teenager and she really pissed me off. I kept wanting to throw the book across the room because of her actions. She seemed to care about her aunt & cousins only on a surface level and given how important family is to me, her attitude was enough to make me seriously consider DNFing the book.

But I kept reading and things got better. In fact Anise’s character arc was a great one. I enjoyed watching her become less selfish and more compassionate and even selfless. While I think sexy, one-armed skateboarder Lincoln had a little to do with that, he wasn’t the only reason she changed. Speaking of Lincoln, I loved him and in some ways he was the best part of the book (yes even better than Anise’s character arc)

Final thoughts: If you can get past Anise’s behavior in the beginning of the book, then you should keep reading it.


giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway


author information

Laura received her MFA in writing for children from the New School. She loves books and dogs—okay, and quite a few people too. She currently lives in Atlanta, Georgia. You can say hello on Twitter at @LJSilverman1.

Blog: http://laurasilvermanlovesbooks.tumblr.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/LJSilverman
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15148197.Laura_Silverman


tour schedule

4/16 Tour Blogs Stops
Review – Pretty Deadly Blog
Review –  Sarcasm and Lemons
Interview –  Curly Hair Bibliophile
Interview – Hopeful Reads
Mood board & Review – Here’s to Happy Endings
Review –  Book Nerd Addicts

4/23 Tour Blogs Stops
Review – Fafa’s Book Corner
Interview – Books, TV, and More…Oh My!
Aesthetics Post – Roecker Reviews
Review – Next Page Please
Interview – Awkwordly Emma
Review – A Thousand Words A Million Books

4/30 Tour Blogs Stops
Review – Books and Ladders
Graphics Inspired Quotes –  The Cozy Little Book Nook
Interview –  Tattooed Pages
Review –  Crazy for YA

Tags:

2 responses to “Sunday Street Team: Girl Out of Water by Laura Silverman

  1. I read and really loved this book! It was such a great coming of age story and very well written with great character development and strong friendships and family ties! I cannot wait for others to read this book too!

  2. Thank you for being a part of the tour, Alexia! You definitely touched on everything. I loved this coming of age book. When characters are so self-centered but in the end, they realize what’s important. It’s a great story that teaches us to understand what’s important. Awesome review!!!

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge